We’re famous on Pinterest!

Gallery

When I was planning our wedding, I was literally scouring the nation for a venue that was beautiful and cost-efficient.  It is insane how difficult that it…but that is a topic for another day.  We ended up getting married in NYC, and you can read about that here.

While on my search for venues in Vegas, I stumbled upon the pictures and portfolio of the talented Chelsea Nicole of Chelsea Nicole Photography.

I had no idea where we would be getting married, but I absolutely knew I had to do a trash the dress session with her.  That’s right…I trashed my wedding dress.  Some brides choose to walk into the ocean, other dive into pools, play with paint…but I decided that hubby and I would be hiking (maybe climbing) through Red Rock Canyon in Vegas.

We ended up flying out to Vegas the day after our wedding for our trash the dress photoshoot.  We ended up taking photos in two locations: Red Rock Canyon and The Neon Museum, which at the time of our photoshoot was not yet open to the public like it is today.

Little did we know, our photoshoot would become a Pinterest sensation!  Hubby came home one evening saying one of his coworkers at the fire station said his fiancee found us on there when she searched “firefighter wedding.”  She showed him the pic and he said “Holy %#&@ I know him!”  At the time, I wasn’t on Pinterest, so I had no idea what that meant.  But now I do…and our pictures have been pinned and repinned a LOT!!  Chelsea sent me an email one day telling me that our pictures were among the most popular.  How cool!  Apparently having your firefighter’s name on your wedding gown is now all the rage…and we can honestly 100% say that we started that trend.  AND it was hubby’s idea to do that!

It was a fun day.  It was a HOT day.  107 degrees and very dry…as usual in Vegas.  It was not my brightest idea…hiking through a desert in heels and a wedding gown in late June.  And hubby almost melted in his bunker gear, but the pictures were SO worth it!  My dress may not look trashed like some others but  I ripped it up pretty good and it stunk after sweating in it.  My mom still has it hanging up, and she plans to preserve it…I still don’t understand it but whatever make her happy.

Here are some of my favorite pictures from our shoot:

SDV_009

SDV_013

SDV_018

SDV_041

SDV_085

SDV_097

SDV_111

SDV_119

SDV_122

SDV_143

SDV_157

SDV_163

Leave a Reply

