I need a vacation.

Standard

Believe it or not, hubby and I have never really taken a true vacation by ourselves.  We have traveled with my family to visit my extended family, with friends for his Firefighter Combat Challenge competitions, and we have traveled by ourselves just once…and it was to tour wedding venues in Vegas, which was a whirlwind trip, worth a story later.

Our honeymoon was shorter than most (we called it a minimoon), and it was a practical one.  We’re happy we opted for a cost-effective minimoon, using perks from my mom for hotel and flights.  We enjoyed it.  But, our vacation was interrupted by a planned, whirlwind trash the dress photoshoot.  What was I thinking hiking in heels in 107 degree heat?  I wasn’t.  I thought it would be smart to kill two birds with one stone.  It was smart on most accounts, but I still wish we could have just stopped for a bit.

Before we knew it, we were on our way home and back to work.

We want to take a vacation.  A real one.

So, I’ve spent a couple days here and there searching around for vacation packages and deals.  In summary, I need a vacation from looking for a vacation!  How exhausting.

It seems everyone else’s idea of vacation is a beach.  I hate beaches.  I grew up near the beach.  I live in Florida.   I want all-inclusive sightseeing and adventure.  Turns out that’s hard to find.

And my search continues.

Leave a Reply

